Adventures

Our last few weeks before leaving the country have been full of adventures. Visiting friends and family, relaxing by the lake, running errands galore, it’s kept us busy…  but we’re getting restless! We are so ready to begin our next adventure. God has definitely used this time to calm my heart and prepare me for our trip abroad.  I’ve been working on memorizing John 14:26-27.

“But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

I know that God will provide for us along the way and once we arrive, just as he has already. I am so thankful for a God who loves me and gives me grace freely; I could never deserve or earn it. I was listening to Mumford & Sons as I jogged along Lake Erie the other day and I was once again overcome with gratitude for God’s grace as I heard the line, “It seems that all my bridges have been burned.
But you say that’s exactly how this grace thing works.” I am thankful for new starts with God as well as new starts in life. It can be hard to say goodbye and difficult to move on, but it can be just as rewarding to start fresh.

Sam and I had our five year wedding anniversary a few weeks ago, and I got him this little sign:

adventures with you

We’ve had so many adventures together so far and I’ve loved being with him every step of the way. He is the adventurous one of the two of us, you see… I’d be content to sit at home with my knitting, a cup of coffee and a good book, but boy would I miss out. Sam is an adventurer. Backpacking across Europe? Done. Night hiking? Check. Skydiving? 3 times, kid. He seeks new experiences and isn’t afraid.  He’s always picking up a new skill or hobby.  He helps me become more adventurous and see more of God’s incredible creation. So, here we go off on our next new adventure. Some of his adventuring spirit has rubbed off on me. I know we’ll go on many planned adventures abroad and I know just getting there is going to be an adventure. But I’ll be travelling with my favorite companion regardless of where we go.

One thought on “Adventures

Fancy a comment?

