A book review, among other things

I was talking to a friend recently and said, “Yeah, we’re in this weird waiting period, this… stasis… right now,” to which he replied, “I think its pronounced ‘vacation.'”

It’s still strange to pause in the midst of these crazy ch-ch-ch-ch-changes, but I have accepted it as a vacation and thus I will treat it as one… and read. And read, and read, and read, and READ.

I found a great book at the library the other day and once I dove in, had a hard time pulling myself away from it. It was goood. New and interesting, relevant and captivating. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan (and seriously, isn’t that a great title?). I’m not skilled at summarizing or reviewing, but here’s a bit of a fitting review that I read after reading the book. (I don’t recommend reading the entire review unless you’ve read the book… it has a few spoilers in my opinion).

How could any reader resist this book title – the idea of a 24 hour bookstore is better than eating at an all-night diner. With a mix of fantasy and today’s world of digital magic, Robin Sloan creates an adventure of rivals – electronic books vs bound pages – in Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore.

Out of work computer geek, Clay Jannon, finds a new job on the night shift of a strange indie bookstore in San Francisco. Few customers want the books on display by Haruki Murakami, Neal Stephenson, and Dashiell Hammet; the attraction for his night visitors is the collection high on the dusty shelves in the back.

Although the ingredients of long black robes, secret staircases behind a bookcase, coded messages hidden in books, have the flavor of a mysterious fantasy, Sloan cleverly inserts the modern adult world and ancient artefacts into the dilemma. Google plays a key role, along with experts in simulation, video technology and professional hacking.

(From http://nochargebookbunch.com/2012/11/07/mr-penumbras-24-hour-bookstore/).

It was enthralling and cleverly written. Read it. Add it to your summer list. And then, when you’ve read it, tell me so we can talk about it. 🙂 I read it in two days… it’s an easy read.

Image

In other news, I went to the doctor today and was told I have a dysfunctional Eustachian tube. That explains the ear and headache issues. He gave me medicine which should clear it up, but might also, in his words, make me cranky, hungry and retain water. Grrreat. More to come later on if that’s true… or maybe you should just ask Sam. 😉

Fancy a comment?

